Carlos Santana’s faith: Oye Como Va

Posted: October 8, 2008 in Above the Fold, Denominational Fun, IJS, Keep it real, Snap, Crackle and POP Culture
Tags: , , , , ,

Full disclosure: HiScrivener loves him some tunage, good music back before wailing and screaming sold iTunes. Among those bluesy winsome selections of mine, some of Carlos Santana’s are a Top 100 all-time.

So, who cares? We are here to discuss faith, religion and mainstream news. Easy now. I’m getting there…

However, his personal faith has had more past-life experiences than Shirley MacLaine. In the 70s, he was heavy into meditation (TM). In the 80s, he got more in touch with those Catholic roots of his. In the 90s, well… Santana got “Supernatural” and reignited his illustrious career.

So now? Well, according to this story in Rolling Stone, Santana wants to throw down the guitar, pick up a crucifix and become a priest. Well, kinda.

“I’m going to stop playing when I’m 67 and work on what I really want to do, which is to be a minister, like Little Richard,” he says. “I’m not sick of what I do, but I find that God gave me the gift of communication even without my guitar and with the ability to get people unstuck with certain sections of the Bible having to do with guilt, shame, judgment and fear.”

Commendable, and completely surprising, right? Hold that thought…

“It’s like my manager Bill Graham once said to me: ‘Carlos, you have to accept that your music is very sensual and stop apologizing for it. People want to have sex to your music, and that’s just the way that it is.’ And once I accepted that, I wasn’t so much in conflict with my Catholic upbringing and thinking it was dirty or against God to have an erection.

He had me in his pulpit right until the very end.

Some people are called to do certain things, and I’m afraid pulpiteering may not be for this smooth Gibson-playing, Mesa boogie-amplifying virtuoso. Sure, he can “minister” to anyone, but stay outside the church, hermano.

MEMO to the man of the Wah Wah: If you fancy a journey of faith, take it personally. Do not assume just because you have achieved a sense of enlightenment through music, that you can minister that mess to other impressionable folk. Eh-hem…ready?

Those are “Evil Ways”. You can’t throw out an “Open Invitation” to any “Black Magic Woman” and presume you will be “Winning” her soul. To be a sentinel for Christ, it takes “No One to Depend On” but God for faith, inspiration and fortitude. Because, trust me, if your words are not grounded in the Word of God, you’ll find that “She’s Not There” and you just committed a “Soul Sacrifice.” So, “Se a Cabo,” Carnal.

For those who appreciate his music, that was talent, my friends! Wheeee!

Comments
  1. Joe says:

    I just noticed the link to this older post in the sidebar.

    Hilarious at points, HS. You have a great sense of humor. First off, I used to like Santana a lot. That was until the “Supernatural” tracks got played every five minutes on the radio and I couldn’t take it anymore.

    In any event, Carlos’ spirituality has always been a little wacky to me. You didn’t mention in your post, but Carlos had a tough time as a kid. If I’m not mistaken, he was molested as a boy. Granted, he’s much older now, but when I know of people’s stories like his, I’m reminded of when Jesus told the people that those who harm young children, are better off tying a millstone around their neck and taking a long walk off a short pier (Matthew 18:6). I only bring this up to add understanding to Carlos’ background and have some sympathy.

    It angers me when children cannot grow up in a safe environment and I can only imagine the wrath that awaits those who harm children physically, spiritually, or emotionally.

    • TheYoungDreamer says:

      i completely both agree and understand why such abuse to children would anger you. no one should have to be put through such things. and i would like to say at least we can feel a little better know that those abusers will be punished but in truth we cant. Still those scars are unseen but are always there.

Leave a comment