People hand writing Bible, need prayer for writer’s cramp

Posted: January 15, 2009 in Age Quod Agis, Inside 411, On Your Wall
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Back in days of antiquity, days before the Bible, scribes would follow around the great orators of the day and feverishly quill the words that dripped from their tongues like honey.

It was a better time back then, because if we consider writing more than a check to pay a bill, we whine about writer’s cramp.

Such is life for a bunch of dexterous lads at John Brown University who plan to hand-write the entire NIV Bible, now celebrating its 30th anniversary. according to this story from NWANews.com (Northwestern Arkansas, for those not in the geographic know).

handwriting-bible

Never mind the scorching. That was my hand burning up the quill.

Participants are each given a verse that they are asked to write out twice on specific paper. The papers will then be bound in order, and one copy of the handwritten Bible will be auctioned off to benefit the International Bible Society, and the other copy will be given to a national museum, more than likely the Smithsonian.

The idea is to have people who love the Bible, show up and hand write a few verses for kicks? Not that after a paragraphs of those head-rattling “begats” I wouldn’t be running to turn on my laptop with the quickness. Because I would and probably twist an ankle in the process.

HiScrivener has unique handwriting, which is why I’m grateful I can blog on screen.

If I wrote all my blather in my block script, all caps, no-cursive-having-because-my-lazy-tail-never-learned style, I would have to slice off my hands and pray for my nubs. Aw, it’s horrible. Life without a cyber notepad? The shame of it all.

Comments
  1. Excellent weblog right here! Additionally your site lots up fast! What web host are you the usage of? Can I get your associate link in your host? I wish my website loaded up as quickly as yours lol

Leave a Reply

