Archive for April 24, 2008

PC XmasThe Apostle Paul (a real one, note to FKCP) once wrote to the Church of Corinth, “I have become all things to all people.

Now, although I’m sure that’s what this HONORARY CHAIRMAN OF THE NATIONAL DAY OF PRAYER was thinking in this recent story, he should have kept in mind the rest of that all-encompassing scripture:

…I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings.

Hey, Zack. You get that? FOR THE GOSPEL. The National Day of Prayer was instituted by Christians and blessed by Congress. Now sure, if you are Buddhist, Jewish, Muslim, Zoroastrian or even a Scientologist, you can pray that day as well. More power to you. But if you are in charge of the NDP, keep in mind why this day has an impetus anyway. Since 1775, this day has been to focus on God, and uh… that Jesus guy.

But, in these – the ‘oughts’ – it’s not fashionable or modish to stand out in a crowd for Christ. So, we have to lay an egg and throw out some milquetoast prayer that is universal? Do you think a rabbi, an imam or an elder would have done that for a meditating church group nearby?! NO! So why should Christians be the kowtowing type on a day designated for prayer?!

Maybe it’s just me but when I talk to someone on the phone, I – at least – want to know that person knows my name. IJS.

OK, OK. I get the whole “I love God with all of my heart” thing because I do that, but isn’t this a wee bit legalistic. She learned this from somewhere.

Quick, call the parents and make they don’t call their home a “compound.”

The court we don't like to discussWhen the Spirit of God was quoted in Genesis 50:20, “But as for you, ye thought evil against me; but God meant it unto good, to bring to pass, as it is this day, to save much people alive,” do you think he meant this?

Recently, the regaled and spectacular Juanita Bynum caught herself ending what appeared like a story book marriage with Thomas Weeks III, who pled guilty to ASSAULT against Bynum, and got three years of probation to show for it.

First, good for you, Juanita. Take your mess and create a message. Yeah, it seems sensationalist on national TV, but someone’s got to preach to anyone… and what a better woman to do just that. You go girl!

Second, Thomas, nice job living up to your surname. It takes a weak, weak, weak man to beat up a woman.

Third, man, the times they are a-changin’. Does anyone watch this show anymore?