How I missed this one in the Christian Post, Wall Watchers, I have no idea… but back in later July, an esteemed junior college or remedial high school Augusta State University threatened one student, “Change your Christian beliefs or you won’t graduate.”

Jennifer Keeton, 24, has been pursuing a master's degree in school counseling at Augusta State University since last year, but school officials have informed her that she'll be dismissed from the program unless she alters her "central religious beliefs on human nature and conduct," according to a civil complaint filed last week.

Seriously… any more questions about my theory on Christianity being the only legalized and unprotected prejudice?! So, there has to be a catch for a school to go Orwellian in the middle of a semester, right?

Jennifer Keeton, 24, has been enrolled in the College of Education’s School Counselor masters degree program since fall 2009. She has expressed her Christian beliefs in class discussions and written assignments, but it was her views regarding gender and sexuality that irked faculty.

And there’s the rub. Talk Jesus and we will tolerate your inane blather. Debate gay rights and off with your head!

So, here’s this post-grad student – who incidentally is PAYING MONEY to attend this institution of higher education – that stated in a regular class she believes that “sexual behavior is the result of accountable personal choice rather than an inevitability deriving from deterministic forces.”

Ostensibly, the whole “Homosexuality is a lifestyle, not a state of being” thing.

Then, the school administration channels Harvey Milk and hurls the book at her… the pink one laced in nice chiffon.

Keeton was notified that she would be asked to participate in a remediation plan. Mary Jane Anderson-Wiley, an associate professor who also oversees student education and discipline, explained that the faculty wanted to see Keeton’s writing skills improve and that they are concerned with some of her beliefs and views pertaining to GLBT (Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender) issues.

Has anyone cared to tell Ms. Anderson-Wiley that they are concerned with her blatant anti-Christian attitude? Of course not, because that would unconstitutional and unethical. But tell a student to go to summer school for gay sensitivity training and it’s just another dutiful day at Augusta State.

Americans have free speech and freedom of religion, unless that American is Christian and then your speech is subject by any idiot with a weed against God and your religion is held under a magnifying glass thanks to the public sins of a misdirected few.

What’s more aggravating is… you guessed it… where are all the Christians to say anything about it?!

The cross connects us... so why aren't Christians more connected.

Is there nothing that will unite us?

Say what you will about the GLBTQABCDEFG community but they are amalgamated and refuse to let anyone talk noise about them. Name a sociological group of people and nine times out of ten, they stick together like a family should.

However, welcome to the Church where we eat our young and treat the accosted members of our group like bastard children at a family reunion.

Anyone see a problem with this? Pastors? Body of Christ? Is this thing on? [Crickets].

“A public university student shouldn’t be threatened with expulsion for being a Christian and refusing to publicly renounce her faith, but that’s exactly what’s happening here,” said David French, senior counsel with the Alliance Defense Fund. “Simply put, the university is imposing thought reform.”

Yes indeed.

This story is national news. It is a clear attack against Christianity. And an egregious attempt to side step the U.S. Constitution. So, let’s try this again… do you care? If so, contact William A. Bloodworth, school president through his office at:

Judy Cooke ,
Assistant to the President
Rains Hall
706-737-1440
jnmorris@aug.edu

Or, for starters, tell your pastor. I double dog dare you because trust me, folks. And for the hate mongers, save your innocuous, non-sequitur comments. I don’t have a problem with gay people having equal rights. Everyone in this country is protected by the same freedom as I am. Only show people that disagree with you the same friggin’ courtesy! And Christians are the hypocritical ones?!

This is just the beginning and if you don’t learn to say something now, you will get trampled upon in the future. If I am going to get smashed, I am doing it swinging for Christ.

The Bible says, “With God all things are possible.” It’s such a shame that these days without God’s people, that’s hard to come by.

Comments
  1. Excuse me, but would you all mind waiting a glittery moment while I allow all of this to sink in? Mhmm, yepp, ok, I got it. Oh, yeah. Now! It’s my understanding you are all in support of this girl, Jennifer. While I respect your right to do so, I’d like to say a few things in my own defense. My defense, you ask? Why yes, you read correctly, seeing as this girl, as well as you all, is stating opinions that degrade and insult gays. To be quite clear, I am bisexual. Proud to be, too. So in saying that I’m defending myself, I mean that this is all quite offensive. Before I get into certain colorful things, though, I’d like to pick out a specific comment that caught my eye awfully quick. Miss “got2befaithful”, you say that “I just can’t wrap my brain around haters.” Doesn’t that mean you oppose haters? I do believe it does! Oh but, sweetheart, don’t hate yourself like that! There’s nothing to gain in self-hate! Oh, dear. I’m pretty sure that you’re confused now, correct? Yes, I thought so. Allow me to be frank; by saying such things as you did, and by supporting dear, sweet Jennifer, you’re expressing your hate for gays. Hate… a person who hates is… a hater! Yes, yes, correct. Now that we’ve established you are a hater, do you understand my concern for your self-esteem? What I mean is that you shouldn’t voice your opposition for haters, when you yourself are one. There’s nothing to be gained in beating yourself up.
    Anyways, back to my unexpressed point! Yes, Jennifer should have been free to express her religion, but if she caused problems in doing so, then it was right to stop her. Nobody should have to put up with an individual shoving their religion down the throats of others! I, myself, believe in God, but do I go around preaching all about how God is this, and He does that, and blah, bah, blah? No, no I do not. Nope, no ma’am, no sir!
    And in response to the issue of her paying for her education, and you all thinking she should be allowed to express her views… she’s not the only one who had to pay. Everyone else paid to get the same education, so why should she get treated special? Now, since I’m clearly saying that, because everyone else paid, they shouldn’t have to put up with her religion, the same does, in fact, go for her. If someone from her class were to express their opinions on gays, and it was offensive to her, then I do believe that they should be asked kindly to keep it to themselves. But it’s my understanding that nothing of that relation happened, so the entire case was 100% fair.
    What I’m trying to say is this;
    People, more specifically those who think like you, should really think things through a little more. Contrary to popular belief, there’s more than one side to every story. Try to think about it through both eyes and ears, alright?

  2. got2havefaith says:

    Outrage! The hypocrisy is everywhere…but it’s the Christian that always get the blame for that one. I just can’t wrap my brain around haters. FYI I fired off a letter to the president in Jennifer’s support. Thanks for posting this one because I hadn’t hear it yet. But that doesn’t surprise me. If the news outlets had a choice between this story or a gay-rights related issue, the gay-rights story would win out and be the story to air.

  3. […] too long ago, I commented on Christians in higher education. Hiscrivener has an example from Augusta State. Joel asks about attending Liberal Universities. I can’t […]

  4. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by HiScrivener, Clay Boggess. Clay Boggess said: Augusta State University: “Change your beliefs or don’t graduate!” http://bit.ly/aLdmcy […]

  5. boydmiller says:

    No question about the hypocrisy here, however when one aspires to get certified as a snake charmer it is best to wait until certification has been received before denouncing the theories being taught.

  6. […] Myth of Circumstantial Freedom Hills Bible Church BlogAugusta State University: Change your beliefs or don't graduate …Very […]

  7. Clay Boggess says:

    This is so aggravating! Why does it seem that some people get away with such hypocrisy? I would like to see what they would do if the tables were turned on them for a change.

    • Oh my! The thing is that what they said about her writing skills may have be legitimate (although, I have had to provide writing samples to every grad program in which I’ve enrolled, so . . . .) If they’d left it at that, there wouldn’t be much to it, BUT to bring up her beliefs is completely over the line. It’s like the coupled the two to give the second one some credence. And she’s obviously writing well enough that they understand her views clearly.

Leave a comment