God Sighting of the Month: Ironing out your salvation

Posted: November 30, 2009 in Above the Fold, Denominational Fun, Follow up, Good for a Giggle
Tags: , , , , , ,

The real Iron Man? (Courtesy: AP)

Just in the nick of time, heeee’s baaaack.

I was getting concerned Jesus didn’t have enough airline miles to make it to Earth for a cameo, but as always Wall Watchers (say it with me)…

He may not be early, but he’s always right on time. Amen!

Meet Mary Jo Coady from Methuen, Mass.

Coady, a recently separated (put a pin in that) and heavily Catholic mother of two college-age daughters, was tiding up around her home when suddenly she noticed an awkward steam impression illuminating from her iron.

I mean, plug it in and it would have been the burning bush.

The smoky residue from her GE iron created a deified image that is reminiscent of the Shroud of Turin. Or, in this case, of Methuen?

“I’m not telling people they have to see what I see, or believe what I believe,’’ Coady told the Globe today. “They are entitled to their opinion. There’s nothing wrong with that.’’ She added, “but I also know that there are people out there like me that believe and have faith. And this is a good thing.’’

That’s good because she has been plastering the steam-pressed Savior all over her Facebook page asking for everyone else’s entitled opinion as well.

Coady, whose husband recently split causing her faith to wane a skosh, says that the dry clean deity reassures her that “life is going to get better.”

Hey, if that’s what it takes, then God bless her. The only sad thing is noting she was recently separated… and for those who don’t agree with her on Facebook, now they have an idea as to the cause.

Comments
  1. hiscrivener says:

    WOW! Ross, and I thought I had too much time on my hands. Your “punny” rant was too much. LOL!

    • Ross L. Gillum says:

      Sadly HiS, working for a mortgage bank leaves me a “little” more time than usual! 🙂 God willing that will change for the better soon!

      Hoever, it is fun to read your stuff and let the ol “wit” pistol out of the gun cabinet. Glad I made you smile. Trust me, I owed you, as you tend to make smile everyday. I should tell you more often.

      Have a wonderful Christmas.

      Ross

  2. Ross L. Gillum says:

    Even though I am “pressed” for time today, I just have to say………..Full “Steam” Ahead Mary Jo. 🙂 Faith as a grain of mustard seed, or in her case as “scorched” starch!! 🙂

    I wish everyone could just believe as we should, as we have been given all the “evidence” we should ever need. Maybe it is God giving a sign, then I guess it has an impact, but the Resurrection sign he gave…….and the Holy Ghost sign he gives weigh much stronger on my heart than shrouds and steam irons. Just me bein’ me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

