Take time to give thanks, not just take it.

Posted: November 24, 2009 in Good for a Giggle, IJS, Networking, WWJD
Tags: , , , , , ,

How many times have you been to a restaurant and experienced bad service, bad food or worse, a bad waiter?

I know I’m the only unrighteous person in the mix, but let’s pretend. Now think back to how quick it took you to lose your religion and yawp for a manager to complain. Hear the harp music? See the memory?

Wall Watchers, it’s so easy to complain. It’s so hard to say thanks, which is why the Bible is full of ruminations and reminders about giving thanks. Take this one:

Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I will say, rejoice! Let your gentleness be known to all men. The Lord is at hand. Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God (Philippians 4:4-6 NKJV).

Blessings take time to get to you, right? Well, the next time you have a good time at your local eatery or speak with a pleasant person on the phone, take time to thank them! This day is about giving thanks. It feels great when folk thank you. How hard is it to be mindful of which the things you are thankful, and make a godly request for others.

I thank God for each of you who have visited, subscribed, commented and linked to The Writing on the Wall. Much love and prayers for you and yours. Have a blessed Thanks-giving. We’ll be back to the news after the holy-day! Peace.

Oh, and thanks to the Skit Guys for this giggle.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Take time to give thanks, not just ta…“, posted with vodpod

 

Comments
  1. Edgar says:

    I saw this guys live at a conference this spring and they were very funny and witty. Were able to pick a person from the audience and just be funny (make fun) …

  2. drilegigmic says:

    Мне очень понравился текст, так как и у самого загвоздки с определениями ) Но вот читать трудновато – не отформатировано.

  3. hiscrivener says:

    Banking, yes. Lawyers? I would have to pray about it. 🙂

    I really appreciate the words, brother. You get your grub on.

    Peace.

  4. Ross L. Gillum says:

    Okay dude, this is your best and most thought provoking ever. As I read this I begin to think…..”I work in a very “thankless” industry, at least for the moment”!!! (If I tell you I am in banking, can I still come back to see you???) 🙂

    Seriously, my department is mortgage, and trust me……I know what it is to be “blamed” for everything, but I “try” often to be thankful that I have a job, and for the scarcer than scarce clients when they do come in. Sometimes, though, it is just hard to be grateful, and I fail at my thankfulness. However, never has God failed me. I have a roof, 3 squares, a ride, excellent health (for my age!!:-)and a beautiful loving family. My “daily bread” all wrapped up into one. God is good ALL the time. I hope after reading this, I can practice more thanksgiving to Him, and to others…..day by day.

    THANK YOU for reminding us of what thanksgiving really is, about our bouts of forgetfulness in thanksgiving, and doing so in such a clever and yet sincere way. Please know that when I read other Wall Watcher’s comments on your posts…………that I see a really large group of folks that are thankful for you, including me.

    God bless you and yours this Thanksgiving. And may God continue to bless us through you with your daily news, videos, and anecdotes.

Leave a Reply

