Apocalypse Watch: Black pastor uses “N-word” in sermon

Posted: October 3, 2009 in IJS, OMG!, On Your Wall
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Imagine you are warming a pew, the band was on this particular Sunday and you are expecting a nice message from the “Mand of Gawd.”

And then it happens – a moment to make you forget you were in a church and back in the club. No, not that saint in the choir you have been watching too closely. It was something the pastor said:

“We hate (the n-word),” joked [Rev. Jim] Lee while using the actual racial slur. “I would say I don’t eat them either.”

n-wordAccording to this story in the Detroit News, Rev. Jim Lee of Renaissance Unity church decided to rock one of the most offensive words ever more than 30 times in a recent message.

The topic of said sermonette? “Love thy neighbor.”

Yeah, because I want to love on my neighbor in the name of the Lord, I crush terms of endearment from the Civil War era.

Why not, for sake of an illustrated message you dimwit, call your elders the “house Ns” and the lay persons “field Ns.”

“It was design…I knew it would get a reaction,” Lee told the Detroit News.

Well, he’s getting alright and most of those visceral rants have been from fellow brothers.

“He’s using the wrong format. The pulpit is the wrong format to use hate words and that is a hate word,” said Jim Netter, a western Wayne County resident who is African-American. “I’m disappointed.”

To wit, I completely agree.

Use the pulpit to make a point, drive a topic and create an issue for discussion, but “brother”, this is Motown, the same place where the NAACP “buried” the very word you are promulgating like it’s a handout at a local charity.

I don’t know, maybe this just rubbed me wrong but what the hell is this guy thinking?

“Love thy neighbor”? And he delivers one of those words that creates memories from centuries past of doing exactly the opposite.

I don’t have a whimsical ending for this story, but suffice to say, I have another “N-word” for this guy. And I can use it in a message title as well.

“Just say NO.”

Comments
  1. Shea Bernard says:

    Why do you people print stories like this and not provide the link to the video????

  2. MarioBerg says:

    Man, I would love to get some more posts about this topic. Thanks alot.

  3. Lorenzo says:

    I watched this entire service on the internet and the service was outstanding. People are making judgments without having listened to the ENTIRE message. As Christians it is incumbent upon us to love thy neighbor, regardless of whether that neighbor has love for us. Rev. Lee used the example of how he was bound by the n-word. In his youth, he had given that word so much power that if anyone ever used the word against him, he would become filled with hate and violence. He kept saying the word to show that since he is NOT what that word conveys, that it has NO power over him. Translation: Your hatred or attempt to make me less of who I am by using this word will not rob me of the joy of the LORD who is the truth of who and what I am… AND I’m still going to love you anyway! It is a word that has only as much power as you give it. Before you criticize, please listen to the message to put it into proper context and if you are still angered, check yourself, pray to God and ask why any person or word makes you feel less than the child of God that you are.

    • hiscrivener says:

      Speaking of the “entire message,” you read the whole post? Rev. Lee had a good point using that word… once! But 30 times?! Seriously? The word is awful enough with dimwit kids thinking it’s cool just because is colonialized with an “a” versus an “er”. Then to hear a pastor use it not once for emphasis, but 30 times for kicks… that’s not making a point, that’s abuse.

  4. John says:

    How much of this is another case of a pastor trying too hard?

  5. LA girl says:

    I heard the same message it was titled, Core Value Love. The message was about unconditional love. I watch this minister via the internet weekly. This particular Sunday I was in town and present for the service. I am an African American and I was not at all offended by the the ministers use of the N word. I never use the word in slang or otherwise however it was clear when the minister used the word that he was saying that the N word no longer offends him. I think its too bad that people are still offended by the N word particularly when it is not being directed at them as an insult. Perhaps, some people try to find things to be angry and complain about which in my opinion is a oppressed and depressed state to live in.

    • hiscrivener says:

      Some people do find reasons to be offended. LA girl, you are so right. And there are the issues where offense just happens. Honestly, if he said once, I would laughed out of the shock value and moved on… but 30 friggin’ times? Seriously? It’s almost like he was waiting for a Dick Gregory stand-up routine to break in his schtick and rolled with it. He overdid it, and for him to not know that, is blinding on his part – not ours.

Leave a Reply

