Continuing the visual motif this week, it’s no secret my proclivity for bad Christian marketing.

From pop culture design to denominations, technology to terrible tactics for ministries, we have covered it all… with um, rotten tomatoes and sour grapes.

There are some really bad ideas out there in Christendom. As we have tagged before, it’s shameful that the Church seems to be the bevy of stolen… er, borrowed ideas.

Whether it’s a pastor’s sermon, “CSI: Christ Scene Investigation” or a cheeseball T-shirt swiping a popular logo and “Christifying” it, like “Jesus Christ: He’s the real thing,” real Jesus followers demand more. (And yes, I am considering coining that phrase.)

We follow a guy that had the idea to create the world in six days… and his children can’t do better than that?! I think they can, and have advocated that many times in my fare burgh.

Then I saw this brilliant post on Acme Arena’s Defending. Contending. Aside from the fact it just confirms my albeit jaded thinking, I haven’t stopped laughing about this mess.

Below are some of my personal favorites, but please click on the link and enjoy:

Choo-choo-soul for Christ?

Choo-choo-soul for Christ?

I think the BarackStar will claim copyright infringement

I think the BarackStar will claim copyright infringement

And I just got cross eyed looking at this shirt. Pray for me?

And I just got cross eyed looking at this shirt. Pray for me?

So, if I'm at a loss in the office, can I pray for "Staples"? Anyone?

So, if I'm at a loss in the office, can I pray for "Staples"? Anyone?

And Jesus is my (Patrick) Star too!

And Jesus is my (Patrick) Star too!

This shirt makes me wanna' fling poo as well.

This shirt makes me wanna' fling poo as well.

No child predators there, right?

No child predators there, right?

Does Jesus fart in his car too?

Does Jesus fart in his car too?

Take that, Jordan!

Take that, Jordan!

Comments
  1. […] no secret I don’t have much affinity for stereotypical Christian marketing. I mean, how difficult must it be to take a well-known brand and make an evangelism hack job out of […]

  2. Headless Unicorn Guy says:

    You missed the “Jesus Rocks” (AKA “Jesus as the Zig-Zag Man”) about halfway down the list.

    (If you don’t know what Zig-Zags were, ask some stoner from the Sixties.)

  3. […] } It’s no secret I have quite an aversion to Christian marketing “professionals” that can’t dream up ideas on their own. Instead, they steal pop culture references and logos, […]

  4. patrick "GB" harrison says:

    You might offer some solutions or alternative ad ideas
    rather than just pointing out what you don’t like.

    Marketing is a very expensive proposition, and that is
    most likely the reason for these ideas pinned to old,
    tired-but-true, standards of recognition so the image
    is used to grab that immediate recognition while putting a twist
    on the cliche content found in the originals.

    Watch for our You Tube animation/video and coloring book
    with definite political as well as Spiritual message:
    GOD’S JOYFUL SERVANT.

    Should be up in about 2 weeks or less. The 1st version
    anyway.

  5. […] butt naked with supermodels looking like angels. Every faith-based entity has a stolen… er, borrowed marketing slogan of its own. Megachurches are trying to become the “big box chain store in the sky.” And […]

  6. […] while back, Wall Watchers were bemused by a visual onslaught of lovely t-shirts and branding that’s the equivalent of a six-year-old with crayons watching commercials. Today, we find a […]

  7. Aaron says:

    Wow, you’re obnoxious.
    Do you seriously have an issue with EVERYTHING?
    Is this guy like 78 or something?

    (to OP)

  8. John says:

    Confession time:
    I periodically wear a t-shirt given to with a drumset in the background and drumsticks in the shape of a cross. It reads: Stick with Jesus. But I only wear it to church events 🙂

    Yea, I know Jesus was a drummer! Stay blessed…john

  9. Jason says:

    Minimizing/trivializing biblical truth in Jesus’ name! We could make big $$$! 😉

  10. hiscrivener says:

    Jason, I think you are on to something, brother. Let’s discuss a partnership for church marketing. HAHA!

  11. Jason says:

    I share your disdain for such things. Here’s one I think would make a great t-shirt:
    “Jesus died on the cross to free me from sin’s power and penalty and all I got was this lousy t-shirt.”

    Or if you’re into prosperity teaching:
    “Mansions–why wait for yours in heaven?”

  12. […] Christian marketing at its absolute worst […]

  13. […] Christian marketing at its absolute worst […]

Leave a Reply

