Keep on rollin'

Keep on rollin'

A little more than a year ago, I was in a dark and dreary place.

Unemployed. Beat down. And alone… at least it felt that way. I had this cushy office. Huge window overseeing downtown and all the world was my stage.

Then, the floor opened and swallowed me whole. The industry I cherished stuck a rusty hacksaw blade square between my shoulder blades.

That, while my former boss left her swanky and pretentious designer shoe in my behind as I was leaving the office.

Sure, “cutbacks” was the answer, but when you have a family months later looking for food, toys and a brave “man of the house,” I can’t really sell them with “Well, I really didn’t do anything wrong.”

Online searches, headhunters and going to network meetings with all my church and media friends wasn’t paying off. I needed something… fast.

Then it happened – My Fair Lady decides to tell me, “You write for churches. You work in the media. Make a blog. Please?” Yeah, so I wasn’t the model Jesus-loving guy five months into my forced sabbatical and her plea of desperation got me strolling toward WordPress.org.

And “The Writing on the Wall” was born. Today, 200,000 hits later, I still write amazed and humbled in God’s grace.

From Madagascar to Mexico, the U.S. to the U.K., Australia to Azerbaijan and all sundry points in between, thank you.

Oh, give thanks to the Lord! Call upon his name; Make known his deeds among the peoples! (1 Chronicles 16:8 NIV)

Consider this post making it known and me giving thanks to the other bricks in the Wall, the ACME Arena, WOW News and the 1000s of e-mails and comments. They all keep me going and focused on what’s real about the Bible and Jesus.

You saved me from going bananas and quite possibly losing hope, faith and love. No joke. The cagey comments. The personal e-mails. The links. The love. All of it has been a source of inspiration and shelter of peace amidst a very tumultuous storm.

Seriously, thank you very much indeed and please keep taggin’.

Peace,

HiScrivener

Comments
  1. gcmwatch says:

    Sorry, to miss this (I was in my Job week and weekend) but congratulations.

    Its HARD work writing a blog on a consistent basis so three cheers and a bottle of _________ (insert favorite soda) for all the good work!

    blessings and peace,
    DL

  2. Bene D says:

    Good on you, eh!

    Blog on!

  3. KyleNYC says:

    199,992 of those hits are mine…

    and, LAST!

  4. Joel says:

    Congrats, from the Many-Seeded one

  5. John says:

    Congratulations!

    I’m a new reader and will keep returning. Thanks for your work. Your 200,000 seems a long way compared to my 4000!

    Stay blessed…john

  6. Peter says:

    Congrats! Well deserved.

  7. hiscrivener says:

    @ Jason – Thanks brother.

    @ Joe – “Block head”. Man, if only I would have thought of that first. HAHAHA! Brother, I’ll be praying for you. It took me seven months and I questioned everything. He’s faithful, just wish he wasn’t so mysterious at times. 🙂

  8. Joe Chavez says:

    I didn’t know your blog was only about a year old. That’s awesome.

    You know that I feel your pain. I’ve been out of work since July. I know God has a plan, I just wish I knew what it was sometimes.

    So glad and blessed to have found the blog and I’m proud to be one of it’s bricks!

    I guess I really am a “block-head.” 🙂

  9. Jason says:

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

