How many Twits are in your church?

Posted: April 26, 2009 in Denominational Fun, IJS, Snap, Crackle and POP Culture, The Obvious Files
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Seeing how yours truly is experimenting with this Twitter phenomenon (Cheap Plug: The “Twriting on the Twall”), I got really interested in this story found on Another Brick in the Wall’s “Think Christian”.

Apparently, folk get so bored in church these days, they decide to tweet during the message. And I agree with Nathan (author), “Is nothing sacred?”

Can you imagine being a pastor, into the message, look up from your notes rocking the homiletical arrangements and… you see nothing but hairlines because the first seven rows are nose deep in their stupid crackberry tweeting?!

twits-in-church1Look at this graph. According the mobile site of BibleGateway.com, it has clearly affected their ratings. Instead of bringing a bible to church, folk just tweet the scriptures. Seriously?

Are we such an addictive society that we can’t detach the umbilical berry for 90 minutes to hear the Word of God? I understand not turning the phone off during service. I won’t do it, but that’s for those of us who have one of those, “never doze, never close” gigs. (No, I’m not a stripper by trade. Just putting that out there).

But can you imagine reading your micro screen instead of the huge screen that your pastor is referencing with the verse he chose? You will need prayer for more than your inept walk with God. You will need it for your vision, because that can’t be healthy.

People, we need to mix in some reality. Life cannot be all about what’s online. That’s how guys end up in their mother’s basement ogling at their Star Wars collection still in the manufacturer housing. It’s the idiocracy of this world. I have even heard “O-M-G” in casual conversation. Again, seriously?!

Are folk getting so lazy that we have to abbreviate our language in person? I hope not because I’m just not that hip. I mean I have this lovely lexicon bookmarked in the event I allow my lil’ Wall Watchers to ever own a phone.

Don’t get me wrong.

I realize the potential of Twitter, Facebook (visit me there too, if you need it) and other social media networks for evangelizing and outreach, but if you can’t turn it off when you walk into church, there’s a 12-step program around for folks like you.

At least there should be.

Comments
  1. […] And, along with that new theological bent comes the technology to promote it: Twitter (I think I just threw up a little on my PC thinking of this trend for churches). […]

  2. Rich Bordner says:

    Totally with you on this one, H.Scriv….

  3. Ann Brock says:

    You have an award at my blog.

Leave a Reply

