Pentecostal bus driver: “I’m too homely for my pants, too homely it hurts”

Posted: February 19, 2009 in Above the Fold, Denominational Fun, Good for a Giggle, Testify, The Obvious Files
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Meet Gloria Jones, a devout Pentecostal (like UPC Crystal Gayle hair) and an apparent habitue of Gloria Steinem.

You know the type? Burning the bra. Men suck. Refusing to wear deodorant… er, lipstick. Well, it’s all obvious because this UPC She-Ra won won a religious discrimination suit against her employer, the Washington (D.C.) Metropolitan Area Transit Authority. Why? She wanted to rock the denim, floor-length skirt and whistle while she worked.

A Pentecostal woman who refused to wear pants as part of her bus driver uniform has prompted the region’s transit system to implement new policies to accommodate employees’ religious practices. Jones met the qualifications for the position; however, she declined to wear the pants required for the uniform because of her Apostolic Pentecostal faith. She made a verbal request to be allowed to wear a skirt, and Metro terminated her application.

upcNow, the UPC takes legalism to a whole new level. But we’ll get to that in a minute. For her troubles, and this is a bad economy so come on, she got paid:

On Tuesday, the U.S. Department of Justice announced a settlement between Jones and the transit agency, which agreed to pay her more than $47,000, according to the Associated Press. The agency also agreed to pay $2,500 to two others who said Metro didn’t accommodate their beliefs.

47 LARGE?! For what? Because homegirl didn’t get the gig? Maybe this could have been a blessing in disguise. Perhaps modeling was around the corner? Who knows. Whatever the reason, they just didn’t understand you. So, let’s try, shall we?

They have a oneness theology, and if you were baptized in “the name of the Father, Son and Holy Ghost,” we’ll see you in hell. No really. Among the other legalistic extremes are:

  • If men are mustachioed, they’ll take a hacksaw to his lip
  • If women cut their hair… even the dreaded split ends, ladies… it’s curtains in the Church
  • Neither gender can wear sleeves above the elbows. So, UPC churches aren’t a big player near the equator.
  • TV is not allowed (Note the picture). Not because they are Amish, but rather the tube is a pipeline from hell into the home. Nice.

These are the hallowed “Holiness Standards”. Huzzah!

Ladies, claim all the scriptures and twist them until you make pretzels, but here’s a prophecy: If the barn needs painting, paint the sucker! But hey, you got $47,000. I’m thinking since you aren’t buying make up, designer clothes or you know, a car… maybe you can use all that money, and buy yourself a Bible not all marked up by your “saints”.

You just might learn something about being baptized in the Holy Spirit while still experiencing “liberty in the Spirit.” At least, I have.

Comments
  1. Kristen says:

    I think taking that money was wrong but the stand taken right. I also find it interesting how many people are bitter towards a few people in a religion and take it out on the religion as a whole or other people who profess that faith. How closed minded…isn’t that what everyone is railing against though? Closed minded rules?

  2. Rachel says:

    I am apostolic, and I have plenty of freedom. We follow holiness and modesty standards because that’s what we believe in.

    I hope in the future you use some commonsense and etiquette while bashing other religions. Try a little courtesy.

    I wouldn’t sit on my blog and be so hateful about other religions. Granted, being apostolic may not be the only way to heaven, but the Bible clearly states that you must repent, be baptized and filled with the Holy Ghost.

    God Bless
    Rachel

    • hiscrivener says:

      Rachel, you get the impression I don’t know how to get to heaven? If so, keep reading a few of the cornerstones in here. Being apostolic doesn’t mean you can look a sense for sarcasm. Just sayin’.

  3. Vickey Silvers says:

    I am an editor for Christian.com which is a social network dedicated to the christian community. As I look through your web site I feel a collaboration is at hand. I would be inclined to acknowledge your website offering it to our users as I’m sure our Pentecostal audience would benefit from what your site has to offer. I look forward to your thoughts or questions regarding the matter.

    Vicky Silvers
    vicky.silvers@gmail.com

  4. Bianca says:

    Excuse me,
    first off, it IS against the law to hire/fire based on religious principles. Any religion not just apostolic pentecostal. I have heard of muslims who sued for refusing to stand durng the national anthem at a baseball game because it had “under GOd” in it. They won. Honestly, we all have our beliefs and it seems you do not agree with the UPC’s take on scripture. But the lady getting fired just because she refused to wear pants was n injustice. Good for her tanding usp for her beliefs in an era when people do as they wish morally. I say good for her in sueing. She had every right. Was it necessary? no it was not she has taught her former employers a lesson and if is that it is against federal law to discriminate against an employee due to their religious belief. Hopefully they will not make the same mistake again and those who have religious beliefs in conflict with their employees view will not be at their risk in losing their job. Even if the people who benefit from her oactions are not UPC, I still comend her actions. People have a right to their beliefs and should not be punished for what they believe in. Muslims, Christians, Jews, Buddhists,Atheist what have you. Legally she had a right to take action and she did. Her actions may current and future employees. Is that really so bad?

  5. Keanan Brand says:

    My mom came to Christ in the UPC church, and raised my brother and I in that denomination until I was in seventh grade, and then we started attending elsewhere.

    It took a while for me to let go of the legalism — a long while — in which I was indoctrinated, and my dad (an on-again, off-gain church attender who wasn’t sure God was real) was the one who convinced me that all those rules were mostly man-made and breakable. I wasn’t going to get booted from heaven.

    Being so different during half my school years made me an outsider, but it also made me stronger, and one result of being part of such a strict church is all the Scripture memorization that — ironically — is what made me question some of the doctrine i.e. the “Oneness Doctrine” you mentioned in the post. Those questions earned me scolds and prayers; but, in Bible college (another denomination’s), I finally found backup for my questions, and realized what a heresy I was taught.

  6. wickle says:

    Dang … You know, when I had issues with vulgar and profane talk all the time at my job, I found a new one. I guess I should have sued, huh? Maybe we’d be out from under this ol’ mortgage!

    It’s nice to know that, for all their religiosity, the UPC is okay with making money off of their beliefs.

Leave a Reply

