Mormons living a little vida loca

Posted: February 16, 2009 in IJS, Networking, Occultish Observations, Religion Potpourri
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You know, if the Vatican had a disaster alarm that could sound across Rome, it would be blaring right about now.

Thought I was kidding, didn't you?

Thought I was kidding, didn't you?

Why? It seems, according to WOW News’ Reuters “Faithworld”, that Catholicism’s chief target demographic is considering a wider platitude and a higher altitude:

In Argentina and across traditionally Catholic Latin America, Mormon churches are multiplying and the region boasts the largest Church of Jesus Christ of the Latter-day Saints membership outside the United States.

So, Hispanics are being attracted to the home of the Holy Skivvies in droves. Hrm.

For a community that traditionally is eager about the coming of the Lord and worshiping anyone (i.e. mama, saints, friends, folk who have been canonized that thought Jesus was a swell guy, and anyone with a funny, deified reflection of sunlight on their windshield), this is an odd connection.

There is no hope of rapture, the maternal connection to Christ and some of those marriage rites of passage aren’t the most common thing in the Latino world.

Don’t get me wrong. Mormons are great people who work hard to get God to notice them (hence, they are great people). But this is not a distinction you would typically associate with Hispanics.

Besides, have you been to Utah lately? I have… and let’s just say the only thing Latin up there is Yo Quiero Taco Bell. Saints are not allowed to ride shotgun to the Temple. Drop the rosary and enjoy the pilgrimage, gang.

Comments
  1. Lea-Ann says:

    hehehe, it’s funny that the guy named “mormons are dumb” cannot spells the word “oops!” hehehe.

  2. Youhavetobekidding? says:

    lmao .. seriously, i was brainwashed into that church when i was a teenager and it is the most vindictive, pathetic, blasphemic group of wankers in all existence….. The under garments are hilarious … the bullshit that they call doctrine is hilarious and the egotistical pimpled jerkoffs they teach to brainwash innocents are hilarous . Elder G Morris of Oregon USA .. you are a pathetic evil gargoyle. DROP DEAD

  3. Robert Wells says:

    Yes, as ”Mormons” we hope to ‘have our own planet’ if you want to put it like that. And that is not secret that we belive that, can I ask how did you yourself here about that? It is not secret (NOTHING in our religion is secret) and we will freely discuss that subject with anyone.
    As regards to the Temple certain things in their we will not discuss because as mentioned, they are sacred but in no way secret. But we are quite happy to discuss proxy baptisms that we perfrom in them. But only to people that want to know for respectfull reasons. You on the other hand obviuosly do not. One only has to look at your username to determine that.

  4. Barrett says:

    Whatever. It’s just underwear.
    Catholics have vestments and funny hats.
    Muslims have Burka’s and Jellabiya’s

  5. Janeen says:

    The things that we as Mormons choose to do is our business, you have every right to feel the way you do. But as for me, I will continue to wear my garments. I know the meaning behind them, and what they represent for me, and no we don’t have secrets. Nothing in our religion is a secret. These things are sacred. There is a difference. You are entitled to your opinion and I respect that. I just want you to know, like Angie, I love my garments, I love the temple, and I love knowing I am sealed to my husband, and yes one day we will have our own planet, and it’s gonna rock! Plus garments are the bomb, I don’t ever have any panty lines.

  6. Angie says:

    Kyla, garments are to keep modesty and they also have other meanins which you will learn when you get them. NOT ONLY OLD PEOPLE GETS THEM!

  7. kayla says:

    i am mormon. dont make fun of our underpants! haha only adults wear those.. its to encourage mormons to wear clothes that dont show the underwear, thats the point of it looking like a think tee shirt and shorts. and thats an older style anyways!

    • Angie says:

      Hey,I’m mormon too, Ive worn the undergarments since I was 18… so KYLA,”IT DOES NOTHING TO DO WITH BEING YOUNG OR OLD!!!!!!!”
      People starts wearing them when going to a mission or when getting married, TO KEEP MODESTY and they also have other very important signifficances which I will not talk about here because I have a lot of respect for it. I believe that whoever published the pic & the title, is not someone to judge. Speccially if YOU HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IT MEANS. So, I suggest you to visit our church a few times and LEARN more, to kill ignorance!

      ps: I wish you could know how meaningfull our undergarments are. If you don’t like them, dont wear them! but please, be respectful and just live us alone. It breaks my hart to see how people who doesnt know, just make fun of it and judge. One day you will get it, and is not gonna be fun anymore. =======I love my garments!!!! I love the temple, I love the church and anthing that has to do with it===== 😀

Leave a Reply

