Church, if there is anything I am about, it’s being real with my walk with God.

I get upset, like Peter; I get bold, like Paul; I wax sentimental like John; and can wax eloquent like David. I’m still trying to rock the bling like Solomon, but ah, you can’t win them all.

That said, if there was one thing that almost caused me to start my own church out of my garage – lots of stiff folk warming pews and not enough enjoying their Christianity. It’s all about witnessing, and if I met some of those oddballs would I even be interested in becoming like them?!

Um, probably not. So, I choose to believe Jesus was a hilarious cat, along with being God in the flesh and all. He had to be, because we are not created to go through life as if we work in a library. NOW, thanks to Mars Hill Church‘s own Mark Driscoll, I have someone getting my back.

This week in video evangelism is an excerpt from one of his messages: Was Jesus Funny? It’s worth the listen. Peace.

Comments
  1. Jon says:

    Love the video! Very True. Ever heard of Jesse DuPlantis? Look him up and get some great laughs. Steve Gray is also another Pastor bringing humor to the pulpit. He actually has a Saturday Night Live show that is great! Go to YouTube and look up Steve Gray!

  2. amyjomeasles says:

    I’m gonna give you a shout out for this posting and let you know that I TOTALLY agree! Along with your sentiment about humor, I’ve always known that God wasn’t a stuffy God and was hip, urban and chic – all in one big, fabulous pile! And because He is those things, we as Christians can be too. SHOUT OUT TO THE LORD MOST HIGH!

    I know that I have finally been able to strike just the right balance and will hopefully be an inspiration to others as I walk my walk with my God and take Christianity by the horns.

    That’s all I’m sayin’!!

  3. wickle says:

    Are you kidding?

    I KNOW that God has a sense of humor. I KNOW He loves a good laugh!

    Look at the platypus and try to convince yourself that God doesn’t love a good joke. Seriously.

    And check out Elijah before he slaughtered the priests of Ba’al in that contest. “Hey, why don’t you guys try yelling louder. Surely your god is listening, he’s just napping or something.”

    Do you think that was a straight line? The man was laughing his head off!

  4. […] first collected Added 14 Feb 09 from hiscrivener.wordpress.com Flag as inappropriate or […]

Leave a Reply

