Proof religion can cause road rage

Posted: January 6, 2009 in IJS, On Your Wall, WWJD
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I adore baseball, the Great Game. That said, the one thing I have always loved surrounding the sport is… er, sorry thanks to capitalism run amuck, was Monument Park. But, did you know, these hallowed plaques actually used to be in the field?

Can you imagine some steroid-laden third baseman crushing a hanging curve ball, then some rookie in left field screams to the corner post and WHAM! He smacks headlong into Babe Ruth’s mug. Now, that’s a curse.

Have the visual for your entertainment value? Good. DATELINE: Hyderabad, India.

Jesus! Take the wheel! Please!

Jesus! Take the wheel! Please!

Basically, imagine the baseball example… except you are driving around more than 253 obstacles! Oh yeah, and you can’t run them over because they are all religious structures, so defilement would be heinous and criminal.

According to a survey done by the traffic police, 117 temples, 129 mosques, chillahs and dargahs, four churches, one gurudwara and two burial grounds are obstructing the path of motorists. Additional commissioner (traffic) N V Surendra Babu said identification of structures were done based on the effect on the free flow of traffic.

So, what’s a drunk driver to do in the straits of New Delhi? I dunno. Ask the Department of Transportation, I think.

In cases where it is not possible, traffic police will suggest that the structures be relocated. “Taking the locals into confidence and briefing them about the importance and the inconvenience the structures have been causing, structures should be relocated to side of the road. But, the process should happen only with the `consensus’ and the decision cannot be imposed,” Surendra Babu said.

“Inconvenient”. Ya’ think?

How would you like to be doing 75 MPH in the rain, and then WHAM! Baby Buddha stops your hooptie and gives it a spiritual makeover? I don’t know about you but accidents aren’t the problem here. I would say it’s more like a mass rash of atheism in the sub continent. “God killed my car,” yeah, I would have to take up the whole ‘God gets on my nerves’ thing too.

No offense to Carrie Underwood, but “Jesus better take my wheel”! If some Omkar busted my ride, reincarnation would not be on my “must do” list. That’s all I’m saying.

Comments
  1. wickle says:

    You know, my parents live basically at the bend of a road in Dover that creates quite a blind spot. It’s a 35 zone, so most cars aren’t traveling a lick under 50. I think maybe a great big “Jesus Saves” sign needs to go right there.

    Thanks for the suggestion!

  2. Wow, that is strange. I guess we should be thankful for zoning and building codes and the like here in the U.S.

Leave a comment