Charlie Brown has nothing on this old thing, and the woman too

Posted: December 16, 2008 in Good for a Giggle, On Your Wall, Snap, Crackle and POP Culture, The Obvious Files
Tags: , , , , , , ,

charliebrowntreeNow this is a cute Christmas story, and appropriate considering the focus these days on cost cutting for the HOLY-days.

Meet 78-year old Frances Fearn of Cheltenham in the UK… and her ridiculous 79-year old Christmas tree that would make Charlie Brown blush.

Can you imagine a 79-year old Christmas tree? Oh sure, I like to save some cash for Santa Claus as much as the next guy, but even I would mix in fake tree at Garden Ridge.

The 18 ins tree was purchased by her late husband Geoff’s grandmother 79 years ago. Mrs Fearn, 78, a retired home help, says she still adorns the tree with three of its original decorations, a gold bell, a pipe and a Father Christmas figurine.

She said: “It’s so threadbare but it was my husband’s pride and joy. I think it’s the oldest tree in the country. I have to admit it’s getting a bit tatty now. I just hope I don’t do any damage to it this year. I always try to decorate it like Geoff did.

Ya’ think, Franny? You may have global stakes on that claim.

I would call you to let you know, but I don’t think I can reach you since you are still rocking the two tin cans and a long string for communication. Oh, in case you didn’t know, you no longer have to create fire by rubbing two sticks together, can actually turn on your faucet and get running water and if that doesn’t flip your fancy, you can turn on the TV and see Christmas in living color.

Good times, coupon queen. You make us all proud.

Leave a Reply

