So, the next time you are in your neighborhood grocery store, gas station or pilfering through gangling lines in the mall searching high and low for whatever Dora the Explorer & Spongebob is branded on, consider this lovely Yuletide news from Rasmussen Reports:

…A new Rasmussen Reports national telephone survey finds that 68% of American adults prefer stores to show signs saying “Merry Christmas” rather than “Happy Holidays. Only one-quarter of adults (25%) favor signs that say “Happy Holidays.”

aclu-xmas-alert-systemAnd stick that in your corncob pipe, ACLU and atheists everywhere. Ho-ho-ho. Other interesting stats of the anti-bah-humbug HOLY-days are:

  • Men (71%) favor “Merry Christmas” slightly more than women (65%). [Why? Because women say it to who matters, guys are channeling George Bailey and reenacting “It’s a Wonderful Life” with their dorky selves.]
  • From a politically partisan perspective, Republicans (84%) overwhelmingly prefer “Merry Christmas” more than Democrats (51%). Far more Democrats (43%) wish for “Happy Holidays” signs than Republicans (13%). [And this surprises who exactly? If the DNC were any more liberal as a whole when it comes to the legal prejudice that is Christianity, Catholic Churches would remove the crucifix because that shows human torture and reminds war protesters of Guantanamo Bay.]
  • Regardless of what the signs say, 53% will be attending a Christian church service on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day this year. One-third (32%) do not plan to go to a service.[Because everybody wants to pray for help that their credit card goes through and those checks don’t bounce. Everyone repeat after me, “I’ll pay when my taxes come in.” So ghetto we are.]
  • While five percent (5%) of adults have already finished their Christmas shopping, 72% believe the Christmas season starts too early. Only 21% disagree. [That’s easy to figure. Even the ACLU and folk like that hate it when that one adult contemporary radio station languishing for ratings goes ‘All Xmas, All Day’ right before Halloween. Who wouldn’t go bananas with the Chipmunks for that long?!]

Well, as for me and my house, while we are serving the Lord, I’ll be home for CHRISTmas, rolling up my Greensleeves whether that fat dude comes to town or not. Good times.

Comments
  1. hiscrivener says:

    Eruesso,

    I don’t think it’s important as much as it’s a message to its consumers of the faith-based variety. Some companies do it just to be PC, and that’s fine. It’s about the economy, not about slamming Jesus. However, there are those companies like the aforementioned that refuse to say “Christmas” because of the CHRIST in it.

    I agree with you. If I go into Wal-Mart (a company full of supposed faith-based values) and someone says “Happy Holidays,” I’m not throwing down my bags and hurling my produce into the store manager’s face. I feel you.

    However, there are THOSE organizations of which I refuse to shop who omit Jesus because of his last name in the HOLY-day. Do your homework, they’re out there more than you think.

    Peace,
    HiScrivener

  2. Eruesso says:

    I don’t understand why it’s important if a store puts up a sign that says “Merry Christmas” instead of “Happy Holidays”? I’m not shopping there based on a sign in the window but to buy what I need. I honestly don’t care what the signs or the employees say as long as they point me in the right direction. I’m just thankful we live in a country where we can drive to a grocery store and buy all the food we need regardless of what is posted in the window. Peace and blessings.

Leave a Reply

