To be the man, you have to well, be the man!

To be the man, you have to well, be the man!

Small, neighborhood churches can afford to do things in the community that the uberchurches can’t. And vica-versa for the megachurch when it comes to actually PAYING to do things anywhere else.

So you can imagine the surprise to most people who keep with things like this (yours truly included) when the amazing North Coast Church in Vista, Calif. shut down services last weekend to personify the Church [NOTE: Big “C”].

“So many people think of a church as a self-contained religious club – but it’s not,” said Pastor Larry Osborne of North Coast Church. “A healthy church is a community of Jesus-followers who live out their spiritual commitment 24/7.”

Over 6,000 North Coast attendees were expected to live out their commitment over the weekend as they tackled 139 community service projects at 70 sites throughout North San Diego County. On Oct. 25 and 26, the church closed its doors for a “Weekend of Service” and providing churchgoers the opportunity to show the love of Jesus.

Here’s the rub, sports fans… you know why something of this caliber makes news? Because it seems Christians as a whole doesn’t “show the love of Jesus” on a routine basis in droves.

Oh sure, you say “God bless you” at a retail store when someone gives you a receipt or write “Jesus loves you” on the slip near the tip at a restaurant… for uh, those of you who do tip. But this gets national attention. Anyone see an issue with this?!

Don’t get me wrong. What North Coast did is commendable. Imagine the witnessing in the town square when 5,000 happy Christians spread out and spread the message of Jesus. Sweet. And why?

“What we tell people is ‘this week, we’re going to be the church instead of going to church,‘” Osborne commented, noting that critics have become fans of the Weekend of Service and that this year, North Coast has received no complaint.

No complaint. Nice. “Hey Jesus freaks. Next time you come to town, spend money and try to make the world a better place, would you mind not smiling so much. We’re more of a morose crowd here in Boring Dimwits, USA.” Only in America, home of the Megachurch.

Comments
  1. I love it and wish that many other churches would do this. Reminds me of the starving Jesus tour, of not too long ago.

  2. Jessie says:

    I think this is more of a ‘Rather Not To Be’.

    I read this on another site and I still feel the same now as I did then. I am sure they were very sincere in what they did, but hey let’s all go do this ’cause it’s a Great Idea, let’s not ask the Lord and wait on Him to see what He really wants us to do – what does He know anyways? You can be ‘sincerely’ wrong at times.

    I came out of a church a year ago, where they would sit together and all try and put ideas in the ‘hat’ to see which ones were good ideas – to get what? Bums on chairs. Not only bums on chairs, but Paying bums on chairs, I might add. It used to make me want to be sick, but being the nice sheep I was at the time, I went along for the ride for a while not realising that I actually had a choice in the matter and that was looking to God for an answer, not the elders and pastor. I once even found myself handing out balloons and tracts and candy completely against what I knew that the Lord was telling me not to do – why? For fear of offending man!! How stupid can a person be? When I think back I am so ashamed that I did not have the courage to stand up and speak out at the time, that only came later when the Lord said ‘ENOUGH!’ He had me speak out and then quietly removed me. Not many takers to accepting this kind of message. It was teh best thing that has ever happened to me. You see, it all has to be God’s idea.

    My heart feels like it will split in two at times when I read some of the stuff that people are doing, not even realising that there is so much MORE to living with God than doing, doing, doing. It is living, moving, being. All IN Him, not aside of Him or in spite of Him.

    Haven’t visited for a while, thanks for your posting. 🙂

  3. […] Over 6000 North Coast attendees were expected to live out their commitment over the weekend as they tackled 139 community service projects at 70 sites throughout North San Diego County. On Oct. To be or not to be… the Church « The Writing on the Wall […]

Leave a Reply

