Tomorrow, we will discuss more about former gubernatorial and presidential candidate, Mike “I roll with Chuck Norris” Huckabee”. In that post, something is sorely understated and begs a cacophonous “Huzzah!”

Evidently, Mike Huckabee in a newsroom is starting a new-fangled – and alarming – trend… the stereotypical “liberal media” becoming more conservative, not as in redneck but as in Christian (thanks to Yahoo!).

Since the 1980s, when the Christian right emerged as a powerful force in American culture and politics, evangelicals have made significant inroads in law and government by training believers to work inside secular institutions. But while the same universities that helped students launch careers in those fields are offering similar programs in journalism, they haven’t been as successful at changing the nation‘s newsrooms.

Here’s a simple question: “Why?”

Is it because they get sick and tired of the age-old mantra, “If it bleeds, it leads,” so they traipse on over to a Christian publication? What about HiScrivener’s “legal prejudice” theory – where hatred for Christians is not only permitted publicly, but welcomed. You think that wears on a Christian in the throes of a newsroom? Perhaps they’re just not cut for it.

I know, “How dare you?” Well, look. Examine Christian… anything… corporately. From marketing to music, sales to securities, if anyone hands me a business card with an ichthus, I typically think, “Uh yeah” and begin searching for my Yellow Pages. Take this quote:

“They have to be journalists first,” Mattingly [Terry Mattingly, director of the Washington Journalism Center for the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities] said. “You don’t need more Christian journalists. You need more journalists who happen to be Christians if they’re going to contribute to any real diversity in newsrooms.”

AMEN TO THAT!

MEMO to Christian media members and business owners: The cache an ichthus had is seriously impacted by recession these days. That, or the generic scripture, located near the business name is almost as effective as hanging a neon sign around your neck illuminating, “Hi. Don’t do business with me. I’ll argue daily, Take shortcuts. Demand money early. And then try to lead you to Jesus.”

Not so much. Hey Christian [enter your profession here], consider the waiter/waitress during a SUNDAY BRUNCH. Did you know that this sacred shift is the most contested, traded and skipped… from restaurant staff? Wanna’ know why? Christians. Hey! Don’t shoot the messenger folks. It’s a fact, which is why that quote is so pertinent. Forget being a Christian businessman. Trade in your handy Bible for life application of biblical grace, mercy, truth and love and become a businessman that just so happens to be a Christian!

If that happens in a news room, you would be amazed the “Good News” that shows up at 5, 6 and 10.

Comments
  1. Star Scott says:

    so true.. spoken as a former waitress. 😉 Actually, just prior to becoming a christian 20 some odd years ago a large group of “nice” people came in to Dennys where I waitressd each Sunday, crowded into a corner booth, and ordered just coffee and maybe dessert. They then left a dollar each (back when coffee was .50) The first time I waited on them I chased them out the door saying “Hey, You left a bunch of money by mistake!” They laughed and said “no, it was no mistake, it’s yours.”
    I decided I liked those people. The other waitresses thought they were ‘weird” and let me take them each Sunday afternoon. I poured coffee and smiled as they talked in tight circles about things I didn’t understand. they looked at me weird too, like maybe they were sad about something they saw in me. I didn’t understand that either, but i knew they left at least eight bucks.
    Shortly after leaving Dennys I bowed the knee and turned my life over to Jesus. It was a few years before I realized as I sat sipping my own hot brew in a corner table at a family restaraunt one Sunday sfternoon who those people were! I know they had a subtle impact in my choosing to bend that knee and say the prayer that changed me forever.
    i also wonder… if they would have known how close I was to the kingdom of God would they have said more? Would I have responded earlier? Or was a big tip and a caring look exactly enough?

Leave a Reply

