Billy Graham: So much for not supporting your own movie

Posted: October 10, 2008 in Above the Fold, Follow up, IJS, Networking, Snap, Crackle and POP Culture
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

There comes a point in life for those special people when your “legend” outlives – and outdates – your life. The distinguished and amazing Rev. Billy Graham is one such man.

For weeks, the Writing on the Wall has seen inscribed stories about Billy Graham and his biopic hitting screens soon. And thus, the theory.

This is a legend that demands to be put on the big screen, and it so happens that legend knows a guy who has experience putting great Jesus movies in theatres, so you know it’s coming. Only problem with that divine set-up… the “life” doesn’t want this particular “legend” movie. DOH!

But hey, who cares, because the legend lives on, as seen in this loooooong story by the AP.

You see, in PR-speak, if the AP does a story that requires even a single page scroll, it’s hoo-ge. Notes?

“I was attracted to this project for, I think, all the right reasons for me, and spiritually, the things I believe in,” [Director Robby] Benson said. “To me, young Billy is just such a good, decent human being. I wanted to make a movie — this sounds trite — but I wanted to make a movie about goodness.”

You know, Robby. I’m sure old Billy makes a fairly OK one as well. I’m just saying. Yet, the struggles continue in the Graham camp. “Legend” and “Little Legend” (Billy and Franklin to me and you) still don’t want the movie made, but one of the youngest Grahams – Gigi – is an avid supporter and will be probably sitting front row at the premiere.

“Most people know him as a counselor to presidents and addressing the nation, a man with beautiful, silver hair,” said Graham’s daughter, Gigi, who endorses the movie and has spoken at churches where the movie is screened. “They don’t realize he was a tall, gangly fellow who just accepted a call to preach.”

Remarkably, the man’s calling has allegedly gotten the best of him – people. Folk want to see this movie because it’s of him. They want to talk about this movie because it’s of him. And so, the life and legend will merge at a theatre near you.

Gigi Graham said her father at first didn’t want to see the film, but following the visit with [producer Larry] Mortorff at his home, the evangelist asked when he would be able to watch it.

Sweet. A story-book ending to yet another Brickhouse Series. Tweet, tweet, tweet.

Comments
  1. hiscrivener says:

    Kaye,

    Search “Higher Calling Blogs” and you’ll see what I think of them. As for the visit, thank you very much. I hope that “subscribe” button treats you well and you are edified – and maybe find yourself laughing Coca-Cola through your nose – often.

    I’ll check you out when I get home.

    Peace,
    HiScrivener

  2. Kaye says:

    I just found you today via Higher Calling Blogs and am thoroughly enjoying reading back through your posts. Count me in to hang around for a while. Hey…I think I’ll go hit that “subscribe” button over there. =)

Leave a Reply

