Dogs: God’s best friend

Posted: October 7, 2008 in Denominational Fun, Good for a Giggle, Networking, On Your Wall, Snap, Crackle and POP Culture
Tags: , , , , , ,

First, there were car washes. Next, bake sales. Then, witnessing at the mall. Now, in a long, humdrum line of failed church marketing tactics comes this story from Boston that’s sure to warm the heart and stink up the Church.

Beginning this week, the Pilgrim Congregational Church in North Weymouth, Mass. will offer its exclusive “Woof & Worship” services.

“The idea came to me as I was sitting reading the Bible with my two dogs at my feet,” said the Rev. Rachel Bickford. “Psalm 150 says, ‘Praise the Lord, let everything that breathes, praise the Lord.’ And Psalm 148 reads, ‘Let all wild animals, creeping things and flying birds give God praise.’ “So I thought wouldn’t it be a wonderful thing to let all things praise God together and have families bring their dogs to church.”

While that makes me all warm and fuzzy… oh wait, that’s what I just stepped in on my way to the altar for prayer! Listen, I love my puppy too but seriously?! I have a hard enough time getting her to shut up when my parents come over. Now imagine the poor thing clamoring for prayer. Or better yet, what if she gets baptized in the Holy Ghost? She’ll never shut up!

“This was something I had prayed about and thought about,” Bickford said of opening services to dogs. “Dogs bring such hope in a world where we’re surrounded by such hopelessness. As I’ve gone through my ministry, I’ve noticed how dogs change people’s lives. Studies show they can lower blood pressure. . . . And I thought it would be just so much fun.

And the first act of holiness and outreach in Rev’s youth group: turning on the DVD and playing “All Dogs go to Heaven.”

Oh save the moans… I could have said, “Lassie, come home.” Oh! Better yet, the next time the church mother in that church catches a blessing, dub her “Old Yeller.” And then, of course, there is the animated portion of the weekly message: some poor deacon lets loose a cat in service to personify the temptation of sin. Quick, someone call PETA!

Comments
  1. Loved your post. What’s the church going to do next to promote the feel good gosple? Will cat lovers and bird lovers and snake owners and … will they complaine because their pets were not welcomed in worship? Shall the church become a zoo? Or is it already?

  2. hiscrivener says:

    Nice! You know, those donkeys can truly take up pew space. 🙂

  3. Brother K says:

    It could have been worse; the Pastor could have been snuggling up with Numbers 22 when inspiration hit…

Leave a Reply

