Cross Eyed: The Birth of SKA

Posted: October 4, 2008 in Good for a Giggle, Snap, Crackle and POP Culture
Tags: , , , , ,

This week’s edition of Cross Eyed – our segment of video evangelism on the Wall – is a musical history lesson, so turn up those speakers and grab the tissue. Trust me, you’ll need them!

In all my years of being a true musical aficiando, I have learned the progenitors of Skat music, the Blues, R&B, hip-hop, rockabilly, grunge, rock n’ roll, jazz… and now SKA.

Oh sure, you have heard it came from Jamaica while folk were puffin’ on mad spliffs, couldn’t locate the latest Marley tunage so got jiggy with the keyboards and SKA was born. Not so fast, folks. The gem on the clip below is the forefather of SKA, and it’s sacred too!

Ladies and Gentlemen, boys and girls, fans of Fishbone, The Toasters and Let’s Go Bowling, gather ’round… and peep SONSEED and “Jesus is my Friend.” Oh, good night, this is great! Puh-lease pass this on and maybe this hot group will get out of the nursing home and make a sequel.

Comments
  1. KyleNCY says:

    BTW, the production values, the gimmicky editing and the faux Rasta Mon rhythm-itation (yep, real word), are just off the hook.

    My cringe factor just rose exponentially. More than even when Bush or Obama speak.

  2. KyleNCY says:

    Bah, you’ve got me beat by 5 years. I worked in the TV industry here in NYC from ’89 to ’03.

    Got really tired of working with producers/directors on the post-production side who couldn’t decide on whether or not to make a cut 5 frames early or 5 frames later. TRUE STORY.

    I however have a better pick me up: TIM CONWAY. He kills. As a dentist. In the jocular sense of course.

    BTW, that HazMat suit does come in blue: UN blue. NWO Über Alles!!!

  3. hiscrivener says:

    Kyle,

    Any time I need a pick-me-up, I visit this video and know I truly have a friend. Ahhh, kinda hits me right… here…

    Seriously, thanks for the words. Although I’m not from NYC (more like “Big D”), I have been in the media for more than 20 years, and if that doesn’t writhe up your dander, nothing will. So, like so many scorned athletes and politicians, I blame the media.

    However, that HAZMAT suit does sound tantalizing. Does it come in blue?

    Peace,
    HiScrivener

  4. KyleNYC says:

    OH. DEAR. LORD.

    I was half expecting Weird Al Yankovic to bust out on the scene and take the lead.

    Brother K, that’s hysterical. Of course you know someone would try to smoke them.

    HS, I’ve been trolling your site for sometime and I gotta say, you rock. Your writing style reminds me of the “snarky” NY’ers I used to work with in Television. Please don’t hold that against me. Are you from the NYC area or have you been tainted by growing up in front of a TV set like me? 🙂

    If so, I have a HAZMAT suit waiting for you. Unused, of course. 😉

  5. Brother K says:

    …sadly, somewhere, Toots & The Maytals just burst into flame….

  6. […] { if (vbc) vbc.style.visibility = ‘hidden’; e.style.backgroundColor = ‘#fff’ }); }); Cross Eyed: The Birth of SKA trackback from post […This week’s edition of Cross Eyed – our segment of video evangelism on […]

Leave a Reply

