Several years ago, when this huckleberry boy with a big set of pipes took the stage at “American Idol,” you just knew something was awry with a young Clay Aiken.

Ruben Studdard beat him, but Clay’s star continued to rise. Through his songs and then on Broadway, the presumptive thoughts kept creeping up and then he goes on “Regis & Kelly,” and more than a cat came out of his closet.

And after yesterday’s edition of People magazine hit the shelves, now we know why. For those whose batteries in their Gay-dar haven’t been replaced, Clay’s Gay. Sorry 12-year old girls and 45 year-old frows.

I mean, seriously, what straight guy does that? To her? Oh well, I guess we know.

So, why is it on the Wall? Get this quote from a dude shady enough to have a child to cover up what he does in the dark only to step outside his closet and couldn’t find the spotlight, so…

“Of course (I feel at odds with my faith). I have to respect the people who disagree with me. I don’t struggle with it anymore, but there have been times that I have. And I still consider myself a born-again Christian, and I am absolutely comfortable with that and comfortable with my salvation.

Due respect to Ray Boltz, no one saw that coming and no one knows how long he has been dealing with it. Clay, on the other hand, come on! That hair, that voice, those denials. Puh-lease.

However, you can’t have it both ways, Body. Most Christians love Boltz, but even more laugh at Aiken. That’s the thing about God’s grace, it sees no personality, only a soul for which Jesus died. Good thing, because if God was a man that could be swayed by emotion, I would have lost my salvation YEARS AGO.

So, as much as I’ll grit my teeth and not slam Clay’s head against a brick wall with acerbity, BOTH Aiken and Boltz need to ask themselves something, “Is this really what Jesus wants for your life… and that of your family’s?”

I mean Clay, if your faith is so solid, then it doesn’t matter what twisted psychobabble and pablum you hear at a MCC church? Show us all how comfortable you are, go straight to a Bible and tell me for yourself. Oh, and wash your hands.

Comments
  1. hiscrivener says:

    Oddly enough through all this vitriol, I haven’t seen one person back up that Jesus does indeed not have an issue with this. If you don’t think it’s a biblical issue and a dogmatic errancy, step up.

    Heck, insert the sin. Clay Aiken could drink alcohol like a fish, who cares. The premise of this post was Aiken’s quote, “I’m absolutely comfortable with my salvation.” Dude, I’m comfortable I’m going to heaven, but am nowhere near close with my walk with Christ.

    I foul up daily and constantly strive to be more like him, and know it. So when folk act stupid, call themselves saved and have no umbrage toward their sin – I take issues and they become spray paint on the Wall.

  2. Picco says:

    As I read it , my Bible tells me not to judge others and that we are all sinners . I would feel like a bigot and a hypocrite if I judged Clay Aiken or anyone else and that would be yet another sin .

    I’ll let God judge Clay . According to the interview the two of them have a relationship and are in communication . Good enough for me .

  3. Pat says:

    And you profess to call yourselves Christians? There is NOTHING I hate more than a judgemental Christian. This is everything a true Christian is NOT! Who are you to judge Clay or his faith? At least Clay isn’t into molesting little boys the way so many priests are, but that is just swept under the rug and they are moved to a different parish to do it again. Come on, people. Isn’t it time people stopped ripping Clay Aiken apart? What he does is between him and God, and I KNOW God is alot more forgiving than most so-called Christians.

  4. hiscrivener says:

    Yeah, I got that one from several people in my church. You know, folk that love and worship Jesus think doggies barking a Yuletide carol is cute as well.

    Your argument is out as bleak as your eternal destiny – at least according to the book I read. I pray that changes. Jesus does love you both, and I’m not even asking for money from you. 🙂

  5. Irina says:

    “is STILL the number one best selling book of all time and as more than 1 BILLION people believing the hype”

    That’s about the same number of copies they sold of a song with a bunch of dogs barking out Jingle Bells.

  6. hiscrivener says:

    It’s all about perspective, isn’t it?

    1. I never judged him, just his actions… which is perfectly biblical. Oh wait…

    2. You know I could flip the script and say something to the effect of how sad that you are destined for a trip of humanism without a life with Jesus because you just think a book written more than 2,000 years ago was just a hot idea at the time. But what’s it say that a book written that long ago, by that many people is STILL the number one best selling book of all time and as more than 1 BILLION people believing the hype?! Maybe when you stare at yourself in the mirror, you are all alone for a reason. There are more of us than there are of you.

    3. Maybe this Jesus thingy is real?! Just maybe.

  7. Ginger says:

    You phrase everything that is wrong with religion. The bible was written by men who needed a way to control a non-governed and/or civil society.

    How ignorant to judge modern man based upon a book written thousands of years ago with little relevance to today’s world.

    Sad.

Leave a Reply

