When all other deifications fail...

When all other deification fails...

Welcome to the 2008 election: Barack Obama vs. Sarah Palin. No? Could have fooled me.

I suppose John McCain has been kicking it with Cindy in the Phoenix hills since no one cares that he is running for office anymore. And Biden who? Before I continue, riddle me this: Since when did a presidential candidate have to compete with a VICE-presidential candidate anyway to win the White House?!

I suppose this election is historic in so many ways… so here’s another olfactory-numbing turd for our electoral process, as reported by FOX News.

Tennessee Rep. Steve Cohen riled Republicans Wednesday after he compared Barack Obama to Jesus Christ and suggested Sarah Palin is akin to Pontius Pilate… “If you want change, you want the Democratic Party,” Cohen said. “Barack Obama was a community organizer like Jesus, who our minister prayed about. Pontius Pilate was a governor.”

COUGH… sorry… COUGH, I just swallowed my gum.

Are you serious?! In case both parties haven’t gone completely stark raving mad, this is an election for president not the Crucifixion! The hyperbolic anecdotes to try to woo the evangelical vote has faded far away, Representative Cohen… you know, kinda like your hairline. In other words, shut the eff up!

This is sickening, really. It’s bad enough the media hasn’t talked about John McCain outside of a Gallup poll in two weeks, but this is not a co-ed version of American Gladiators. Gov. Palin is not about to jump into a pool of fire and risk running her makeup just to throttle Barack Obama’s behind in the “eliminator.” Hulk Hogan is not a guest pundit on either of these ridiculous networks. And if Titan gets a cabinet seat, I’m so moving out of here. Cut it out already.

Can we please get back to the issues? Doesn’t anyone care about the economy or the environment anymore? The war? Anyone? Because if I have to endure much more of this, HiScrivener is just going to march to Capitol Hill and start shouting for Barabbas.

Now, THAT’S a Biblical analogy you don’t hear everyday. Go me.

Comments
  1. hiscrivener says:

    Dave,

    Initially, thanks for the post on the Wall.

    1. On the onset, it’s a fabulous thing to be either liberal or conservative, but when it affects your senses, you have an issue. You know the type – ultra conservative tool who is BLIND to anything that could tweak his views. Or even the bleeding heart liberal who is DEAF to anything contradictory to what the party says. Those people are of no use. That’s what caused the rift in D.C. today.

    2. Actually, you’re incorrect. It’s not a theocracy, only the Church is. However, this is not a democracy. People do not have a “free and EQUAL voice”. This is a REPUBLIC, where we vote for people who presume we are idiots and vote for us. Why? Oh that goes back to my first point.

    3. The whole “life” debate bores me. Wanna know why? Well, I’m going to tell you anyway. To the madly pro-choice person, it’s a ZYGOTE when you talk about abortion, but when someone kills a pregnant woman, it’s amazing how fast that fertilized egg becomes an unborn BABY! Hello? Is this on? Anywhoo, I’m biased because I’m a proud Daddy of lil’ Wall watchers and when I saw A HEART AND LUNGS developing in my wife’s belly before the zygote had FINGERS, that settled this age-OLD debate for me, as if I needed convincing.

    4. Religion is between man and God. True. However, if you’re happy about something, you talk about it. I’ll bet if you’re a sports fan, you have NEVER worn a jersey. Oh no, because you’re ashamed of your team, right? I love Jesus and how qualms talking about him; however, I realize there is a place to do everything. Regretfully, most really vocal folk don’t.

    5. The Danbury letter is great. Glad you brought it up. There is no evidence that the Danbury letter was a rumor of a national establishment. This letter was stemmed from a fear of religious oppression, and today it’s quoted by everyone who thinks the ACLU is about equality. Maybe the Church needs to write a similar to the ACLU about that oppression thingy.

    Peace, Dave. Come back soon.

    HiScrivener

  2. Dave says:

    I am very liberal and proud of it, and love to argue with people who love to jump to conclusions that Obama isn’t a good guy, and really is Islamic. I honestly wouldn’t care if he was or not. Our country is not a theocracy; it is a Democracy, and I don’t think it is right to legislate morality in the sense that teaching Creation, and getting rid of abortion have no part in our Federal government. A life being a life at the point of conception is an interpretation many Catholics and born again believers believe, but you can’t use bible passages and religious beliefs to dictate public policy. If I find evidence that Sarah Palin is using her ideas about biblical inferences or in any way has stated that her policies as Vice president are completely reflected by her personal religious beliefs, as an activist I will not let her get away with it. I know even if she was President that too many people like myself who believe in our constitution would agree. Here is a quote from the Thomas Jefferson who co-wrote the constitution, if you didn’t know that already. Here is my quote:
    Believing that religion is a matter which lies solely between man and his God, that he owes account to none other for his faith or his worship, that the legislative powers of government reach actions only, and not opinions, I contemplate with sovereign reverence that act of the whole American people which declared that their Legislature should “make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof,” thus building a wall of separation between Church and State (Letter to the Danbury Baptists, 1802).

  3. barkgrowlkiss says:

    Hers is a myspace blog for now. I’m going to convince her to copy/paste it all over here. I’m sure she’d be much happier with this community of readers, writers, and thinkers. I know I am. Even though I’ve only written an introduction, and I haven’t actually HAD any readers yet. lol

  4. hiscrivener says:

    I really appreciate those words. Please stop by the Wall anytime.

    As for the non-endorsement but clearly political tongue-in-cheek, it’s transparent. Unlike some independents… COUGH (Bill O’Reilly) COUGH… I abhor what politics has become but love this country more than enough to care about who leads it.

    Issues, my friend. It’s the truth that shall set us free… not the tool shoveling it.

    Peace. And what’s the link to your friend’s blog?

  5. barkgrowlkiss says:

    I loved reading this. My friend Nadia just wrote a blog comparing the election to a reality show. You’re really on the mark. Another thing I like is that I can’t tell which party (if either) you personally endorse.

Leave a Reply

