Billy Graham: Movie Talk is so “He said; She said”

Posted: August 25, 2008 in Follow up, Good for a Giggle, Networking, Snap, Crackle and POP Culture, Spin Doctor
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I have often imagined what a moment in time with Billy Graham would be like.

I know both of his publicists, as well as several folk that has spent many hours with this great man, but I am usually the one with an e-mail or driving the car.

So, I will just have to utilize those memories as my muse for now. In doing so, after reading this story in Christianity Today – the latest in the Billy Graham big screen movie debut series – I am sitting back, laughing out loud and envisioning what Thanksgiving 2008 at Billy Graham’s house will be like.

You see, this farce of a film that was reportedly produced without the historic evangelist’s consent and features a bit actor from shows soon to be released on Lifetime and Cartoon Network, is now working on splitting up the family:

“I don’t want to say anything wrong about my brother, but I just don’t see it the way he does,” Gigi Graham, the oldest of Billy Graham’s five children, told Christianity Today. “Franklin called me and said he thought the movie was dorky. But I think it’s good and positive, and I think it honors the Lord and my mother and daddy.”

So there, Frankie! Why not just come out and say, “I know you are but what am I!” You see, this sibling rivalry does have a reason. Gigi is actually a consultant for the movie and doesn’t have beef with the movie. Franklin, on the other hand, could barbecue an entire brisket with the angst he has against this film. And although Billy has made no public statement, Franklin and one of his publicists have been quite verbose about the DVDer, movie.

[BGEA publicist Mark] DeMoss also noted a scene where young Billy faints at the hospital when he learns that wife, Ruth, had given birth to their first child, Gigi—when in fact, Billy had been preaching in Alabama at the time.

To which, Gigi retorts in that snarky “Daddy, he hurt my feelings by looking at me funny so go take away his XBOX or something” fashion:

“People need to remember that the movie is fiction based on fact,” Gigi Graham said. “Daddy was not at my birth, but who cares?” Gigi Graham, who has seen the movie about 10 times, said filmmakers were simply injecting some humor into the scene.

And the hits just keep on comin’. Wall watchers, get your popcorn ready because it seems the headlines on this film are much more exciting and melodramatic than the actual movie will be. Good times indeed.

Comments
  1. Videos Billy Graham’s sermons in France at Paris Bercy in 1986 on: http://evangelistsergeragonnaud.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

