Jesus didn’t tap

Posted: June 2, 2008 in Good for a Giggle, IJS, Snap, Crackle and POP Culture
Tags: , , , , , ,

You know what baffles me the most about the Church today? It’s flexibility to adapt to trends and ability to make anything acceptable by adding Jesus to the mix.

Take the latest based on the MMA phenomenon: “Jesus Didn’t Tap

Now, I am an MMA freak – full disclosure. I love the non-scripted action in the octagon and hand-to-hand combat. Good thing the Von Erichs weren’t experts in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. I would have probably had my growth stunted from never getting my ‘blessed @$$urance’ off the couch. Good times.

OK, this is carnal violence, visceral to emote, as real as it gets… and a complete rush. Obviously, not something entirely Christian-centric, faith-based or ‘family-friendly’. So, how do pastors (mostly men) get by the MMA craze? Remove the desire to preach about men’s fellowship and simply enter a sermon about Jesus in the octagon, caught in a triangle choke or a kimora but being the King of Kings, he doesn’t tap out. Ooooo, I smell conviction.

It’s happened countless times before. I’m sure in one church or another, the Messiah:

  • was claimed to have loved disco because “He will survive”,
  • supported Vietnam and Operation Desert Storm because “the battle is the Lord’s”,
  • wasn’t a fan of 80s big hair because of what happened with Samson and all,
  • was a Michael Jackson fan because he is so ‘BAD’
  • and of course, bringin’ it home, Jesus Christ is our ‘American Idol’ (Rock me!)

But this is something else. I don’t think you will hear it on CCM radio (maybe the now nationally-syndicated Jesus Christ show) but perhaps this song will peak and plummet like most and I don’t have hear people laughing about it at work. Because, honestly, I just don’t have a good defense.

Yeah, I tapped. Nice, eh?

[AUG. 28 UPDATE: If you fancy a faith-based conversation on WWJD concerning MMA: visit the story on “M.M.A., U.F.C. AND G.O.D.” You may be interested. Peace.]

Comments
  1. […] Full disclosure here: HiScrivener is a PPV-watchin’, TUF-recordin’, Jesus-didn’t-tappin’ MMA fanatic. Oh look! It's Chuck Liddell's truck. Isn't […]

  2. Yes, the rap song is the worst ever. I’m sure they mean well and they are causing a bigger stink and more conversation about Jesus than most of the Christians who haven’t had their brains punched out. So I applaud their almost silly idea.

Leave a Reply

