Meet the 21st Century Jesus… literally?

Posted: September 28, 2009 in IJS, OMG!, Snap, Crackle and POP Culture
Tags: , , , , ,

In case you missed, Jesus has indeed come back… well, kinda’.

Meet Michael Belk, veteran fashion photographer and creator of the nouveau cover shot, “Journeys with the Messiah.”

(Snap. Snap.)

This collection of highly metrosexual Jesus photos was released on 9/11 because you know, when I think of that day, I want to be reminded of how the Lord would look as a fashionista in a name-brand toga.

Seriously?

“I was in New York prepping for a photo shoot a week after 9/11 and saw many people searching for something,” recalled Michael Belk, who created the Jesus photo collection out of his Christian faith. “Similar to 9/11, I think many Americans don’t know where to turn in the midst of the current worldwide financial crisis.”

Okay? I’ll give you that, but dude, let’s talk about Jesus here and just what you believe is being searched. These pictures in your “Parable or Messiah Collections” are more than 1,000 words (and I highly encourage clicking on this link).

All photos were taken in Matera, Italy. Yes, same place as “The Passion of the Christ,” but is this the right gospel with Jesus’ coifed hair, manicured goatee and lovely desert ensemble? Just sayin’.

Excuse me, Biff. Do you have any Grey Poupon?

Excuse me, Biff. Do you have any Grey Poupon?

Um? Sieg Heil? Or is this fashion police? Pull oh-vea!

Um? Sieg Heil? Or is this fashion police? Pull oh-vea!

I've heard of carrying me for footprints in the sand, but um...

I've heard of carrying me for footprints in the sand, but um...

Comments
  1. Expected better says:

    Hm. What a very trite review. Your fear of considering that a religious work may have merit reminds me of an elementary school boy who is afraid of touching girls. Don’t worry. You don’t have to marry her, I promise.

    Is a forced, non-sequitur gay joke really worth tagging “homosexuality” in this article?

    Author’s reaction to having finished writing this aricle: “Oh man, I nailed it. Those Christians are going to be running around like chickens with their heads cut off once I reveal and exercise the well-known fact that it’s possible to make anything look bad if you really want to! Me-1, them-0. Or should I say, me-a bajillion, them-a… NEGATIVE bajillion! Oh yeah. I still got it!”

    • hiscrivener says:

      When this story was ‘news’, that tag is how I found the story. And who cares if it was tagged that way, it is the distinct impression some people had when they saw those pictures… namely the one of a dude laying in Jesus’ lap.

      And when I was in elementary, regretfully, I wasn’t afraid. Just like I’m not skeered now to say what’s up when I see what’s up.

      Expect better if you need, and I respect, but be realistic too.

  2. anonymous says:

    Your ignorance is oh so attractive.

Leave a Reply

